It is often said that we should work to live not live to work. Discuss both points of views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that their primary purpose in life is to work in order to further their careers, while others view work as only a means to afford their living expenses. The following essay will explore both of these points of view. In addition, I believe that working is necessary to sustain a reasonable quality of life, but it should not take precedence over other aspects of an individual’s life. The happiest individuals are the ones who equally cherish all aspects of life. Working is not at the top of their list of priorities; they merely view it as a way to fund their desired quality of life. Instead, these people pour all of their focus into gathering as many valuable experiences and delightful memories as they can. For example, the majority of senior citizens agree that their most valued memories are those of quality time spent with their loved ones, not the accolades they have accumulated over time. I agree that this healthy mindset is essential to ensure one’s contentment. However, opponents may possess the belief that having a successful career would lead to fulfilment. Many choose to solely focus on their future goals, and they spend all their time focusing on them. Consequently, they neglect their family and friends. I disagree with this attitude as it can later result in feelings of regret. For instance, a survey regarding life satisfaction conducted among elderly tenants of an assisted living facility, revealed that the majority felt like they have wasted their lifetime pursuing career advancements. In conclusion, while some may give paramount importance to the attainment of their career goals, others only work to afford their living expenses. I believe it is crucial to possess the ability to effectively balance one’s career with their personal commitments, in order to ensure overall satisfaction.