In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

It is quite common nowadays for people to live past the age of 80. In many countries, medical advancements have made it possible for the elderly to sustain life for more extended periods. Though most people find this a relief, others argue that this phenomenon is worrisome, especially for governments. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this and provide justifications when needed. Retelling important aspects of history and providing wisdom are two prime advantages that people of old age contribute to society. Historical events such as the holocaust play an essential role in a culture's upbringing, and having people who have lived through such monumental events is necessary for the story to be retold. Passing down these pieces of history in writing plays a vital role in educating younger generations about the past. Furthermore, elders are people with years worth of life experiences, both good and bad, which makes them wiser than younger people. People often seek elders when trying to solve certain issues, hoping their guidance can help them. For example, religious leaders like preachers and rabbis are usually of old age as they have the required wisdom to help those in need. It can also be argued that elders are economically unproductive and require expensive care to care for their old age. With old age comes health issues that hinder productivity. The government finds this stressful as elders increasingly expand in number despite not contributing much to the national economy. Moreover, as older people age, they can no longer be cared for by their children and must be put in retirement houses, costing fortunes. Catering to their rigorous needs requires plenty of help from staff and experts, and most governments find that allocating funds for this cause is not of significant importance; therefore, sandwich generations often spend a lot of money on this instead. In conclusion, the benefits that the aging population brings to society, such as providing important historical information and spreading wisdom, must be weighed against the drawbacks, such as low productivity levels and high cost of care.