Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time í the lost of particular of plants and animals. Other say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is often argued that the major issue with the environment these days is not just losing a specific specie of an animal or a plant, but it goes way beyond that and involves various other elements like air pollution. This essay will discuss both these aspects and will share important facts regarding them. On the one hand, losing rare species of plants and animals is creating an imbalance in the ecosystem and is raising concern for wildlife. For instance, a recent documentary by BBC suggests that a special kind of plant is becoming extinct, whose properties are to keep animals warm on cold winter nights. Furthermore, the extinction of that tree will result in the loss of lives of several other living creatures benefitting from it. In addition, these creatures are also a source of food for the human being. As a result, if any one of the creatures suffers it impacts all other living being in one way or the other. Having said that, there are more serious and dangerous threats to human welfare. For example, the constantly increasing pollution is decreasing the quality of the air we breathe in and it is giving rise to numerous respiratory diseases like asthma and COPD. Moreover, if this concern is not given attention, it could become the reason for the death of people who are already immunocompromised. Therefore, these rapidly decreasing air quality index levels need to be controlled to save lives. To conclude, in my opinion, any issue which arises in this environment is significant and should be dealt with concern, whether there is a problem concerning human health or the extinction of precious trees and insects. However, the officials should prioritise these issues depending on their side effects and their severity.