Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

The advances in technology and the internet as a whole have revolutionized the way we study. Therefore, a wide range of online courses are offered by some universities, which help students worldwide learn remotely. While there are some concerns about this development, I believe it is a change for the better. One of the frequent complaints about this development is that it brings down the quality of student life. Contrary to the traditional way of learning, online students are unlikely to attend social events, such as debates and collaborative workshops, which are not only a source of entertainment for them, but also a desirable opportunity to improve their soft skills and teamwork abilities. Moreover, online education often fails to provide interactions with professors, even though it is one of the main goals of university education. Little to no interactions with university teachers hardly mean individual feedback and support on students ` learning and their future professional careers. Despite the negatives listed above, I am in full support of this trend. Firstly, it gives access to education for everyone from different parts of the world, including those living in developing countries. For example, most high-school graduates in Africa are unable to get into prestigious universities, such as Harvard and Oxford, meaning that massive online courses can be a great option for them. On top of this, the decreased cost of expenses is the greatest advantage of distance learning. Students can buy such courses from universities for relatively little cost or sometimes even for free in comparison to campus education, which requires daily costs of food and transportation combined with tuition fees that often add up and result in a huge amount of expenses. In conclusion, there are certain drawbacks to opting for online courses at universities, rather than the conventional way of learning, including a lack of chances to exchange ideas with fellow students and tutors and a decreased quality of student life. However, I believe this development is largely positive as every student across the world, particularly those who live in poor countries, can access online courses and gain knowledge. 348 words