The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over half a century, the status of women in society has been changing rapidly; however, communities cannot substantiate the achievement of gender equality. While many groups of people favour this viewpoint, I argue that legal implications, more job opportunities and the right to get education provided by the government in many countries to support the female category prove that there is no discrimination on gender basis. Primarily, improving the position of females is due to the laws made in their favour. To provide equal status to every woman, higher authorities make rules and regulations to protect the dignity of females such as the law against domestic violence and annouce some harsh punishments to the offenders. This leads to a rise in the status of females in the society. Besides legal reforms, another reason to disagree with the statement is the availability of vocational opportunities in every sector. To specify, in the past few decades, females have held various positions in every work area, for example, politics, sports and defensive services. It is evident that women are getting jobs not only without discrimination but also at equal wages, representing the respectful status of women in society. Moreover, females are getting education equally to males. Since government schools provide free education to a girl child and offer free of cost one-time meals at schools, parents allow their daughters to enrol in educational institutes whereas in the past, education was costly so parents preferred their sons to join schools over daughters, leaving them illiterate. For example, had the government schools of India not been disseminating education equally to female children, they would not have been able to hold a dignified position in the community. In conclusion, some people think that they are yet to claim equality on a gender basis even after the better status of women in society, but I think gender equality could be witnessed in every domain of life due to the favour of the government.