Some people think that the teenage years are the happiest time of most people’s lives. Others think that adult life brings more happiness, in spite of greater responsibility. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that adolescence years are the happiest years in one’s life, while others believe that adulthood is the most joyful phase to live despite having bigger responsibilities. This essay believes that, although adolescents are free of responsibilities, adults enjoy their lives more because they are free to make their own choices. On the one hand, adolescents are thought to live the happiest moments of their lives because they are not asked to be responsible. Basically, a teenager lives with his parents, who not only provide him with shelter, food, and education, but also, in some cases, would try to meet his fantasies. For instance, in my country, teenagers are a great example of spoiled people who spend their money carelessly and always ask for more, though they do not seem to be happy. However, I believe that not being obliged to worry about any responsibility is not what happiness is all about, and consequently, adolescents do not live their happiest days. On the other hand, others see that adulthood is a happier phase because adults are free to make the choices that fit their aspirations. Having the freedom of choice will eventually be followed by achievements and a sense of self-accomplishment, which is a primary source of joy. For example, many adults in my country are happy because of the choice of career or commitment they took on their own, and they see themselves as happier than when they were teenagers. Therefore, I believe adulthood is the most enjoyable time because one can not be happy if they have to follow others’ plans even if it comes with no responsibilities. In conclusion, despite having no responsibilities on their shoulders, adolescents do not live the happiest moments of their lives. This essay believes that it is adulthood which is the most enjoyable in light of the fact that adults are free to make their own choices.