Should parents be obliged to immunise their children against common childhood diseases? Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children? What is your view of this practise?

Vaccinations are indispensable for a child's overall well-being. Whether immunisation against possibly fatal childhood illnesses should be obligatory, is a topic of serious debate. The advocates of free will, strongly disagree. From my perspective, I am a proponent of the statement that immunisation against diseases of childhood should be made mandatory regardless of parents' wishes. Getting immunised against diseases is undeniably a basic right of every child. It has proven benefits as it protects the body from getting severely ill and spreading it further to friends and family. The infamous plague of the 'Chickenpox virus' was only defeated after immunising everyone at risk without giving them a choice. If vaccines are not made obligatory, parents might back out from agreeing to immunise their children for redundant and illogical reasons. This will not only put the child's life at risk but of everyone around the child's. Other compelling reasons are safety and assurance that years of comprehensive research by scientists have been published. Statistical data has proved that the advantages of immunisation surpass the few ill effects by far. The COVID-19 vaccine saved millions of lives, albeit many were sceptical about the vaccine at first, thereby, government enforcement was imperative for everyone's safety. Sometimes, due to differences in opinion and a lack of trust in science, parents cannot decide whether vaccines are safe to be given to a child. Therefore, in such scenarios, government policies, backed up by science, should step in to ensure children's safety and well-being. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, receiving timely vaccinations is of utmost importance for every child regardless of their parent's decision.