Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative a negative development?

It is argued that, in recent years, many young children spend a lot of time on their mobile phones every day. While technology has changed people’s lives, especially the new generations, in recent years, I personally think that children should supervise with their parents in terms of using mobile phones to mitigate some of their negative impacts. To begin with, there are many reasons that nowadays young children spend hours on mobile phones daily. The main factor is the advancement of the technology. This is because of the technology, most of the games are applications on mobile phones or tablets or require children to play them online. For example, many children are interested in playing football online instead of going out and play it with their peers. Therefore, if they did not have access to these digital devices, they would probably play games traditionally in the street, for instance. On the other hand, although children tend to paly with their digital devices every day, the drawbacks of this are far greater in the long run. Firstly, it could cause poor communication skills for them. This means that they might spend most of their time on mobile phones rather than having face-to-face communication with peers or even their parents, leading to a lack of confidence when they want to interact with others. Therefore, they are likely to be struggle in the future as they could not develop this crucial skill in their early life. Secondly, it could bring a gap between parents and children. As many adults might not be able to adapt themselves to the technology like a child. For instance, they are likely to misunderstand their youngsters in the long run as they are not involved in their work. To sum up, it is true that chidren show interest in using their mobile phones in a daily basis. Nevertheless, I believe it has many negative aspects on them and they need to be guided by their parents to avoid the potential issues in the future.