Online education is becoming increasingly popular. Many university students are choosing to study online instead of face to face. Do the advantages of distance education outwiegh the disadvantages?

Over the last year, online education has gained attention all around the globe. Universities are opting for distance learning on students' popular demand. In the essay, I will outline the advantages and a disadvantage and give my opinion on why I am a proponent of online learning. Online education has proven to be more effective than in-person education for two main reasons. They are time-efficient and cost-effective. Studying online saves time for commuting, as it only requires a computer and a quiet corner of the house. My friend, for instance, who lives in the other corner of the city, saved two hours of travelling time by choosing to take online lessons instead. What is more, traditional learning is costlier as it includes electricity bills, administrative charges, and infrastructure maintenance fees, whereas online learning does not need any of this. Because of the aforementioned factors, pupils are opting for distance learning. Despite the advantages, one cannot overlook a significant drawback. As the demand for online classes has gone up, old-aged professors with limited to no experience in technology are unable to teach effectively. They are incapable of learning how to operate computer devices and software at a fast pace to keep up with the student's expectations. During the COVID-19 pandemic, it was evident that many teachers were struggling to teach during online classes because of the fear of the unknown. Therefore, solely relying on online teaching would be inconsiderate of learners, and they might miss out on learning from the most experienced faculties. To conclude, even after keeping the above-mentioned drawback in mind, the preferred method of learning has shifted to online because of its many proven advantages, and for the same reason, in my belief, the pros outweigh the cons.