Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Throughout history, the importance of a wealthy nation has always been a priority for the leaders. Many officials claim the financial form of development is the most valuable type of promotion for a country. While on the other hand, others consider other sorts of growth as equal to the former. In this essay, both ideas will be discussed separately and, in the end, I will illustrate my agreement with the latter opinion. To begin with, there is growing evidence which supports the fundamental role of economic growth as the main measurement of success in different states. Firstly, to provide basic human needs, the authorities should have enough wealth to be able to cover their population’s demands like health care and food supply. For example, in many underdeveloped African countries, a large number of the population are suffering from chronic starvation. Without economic progress, there would be no money in these lands assigned for the food program. As a result, not only many will starve to death, but also the crime rate and other social challenges would increase. On the contrary, some individuals recommend considering other forms of progress as important as economic advancement. For instance, social advancement is an undeniable necessity in the modern-day world. If it does not heighten as fast as financial advancement, the result would be catastrophic for society. For example, Japan has one of the highest rates of economic progress all around the world, however, it does not match with the number of efforts in the benefit of the community’s spiritual needs. Consequently, it has one of the highest rates of suicides in the world. In conclusion, despite the irrefutable emphasis on economic growth as the main goal of authorities, there are other forms like social development which are as significant as the former idea due to their considerable effect on human life.