It is a fact the majority of people who are sent to prison commit further crime after their release. What is causing this ? What can be done to change this ?

There have been an increasing number of violations and it is a quite common issue that criminal offenders often return to jail after serving their sentence. In my opinion, it is important to give prisoners an appropriate education as well as they need to be given decent aftercare. Firstly, the reason why convicts return to prison is they would not reflect enough on their misconduct. They should have time for self-reflection such as reading books and writing a diary to learn from others or themselves. Having this time could help them to look back at their mistakes and lead them the correct direction. Moreover, it is important to provide appropriate rehabilitation programs to offenders. The idea of these programs should be not to commit crimes again through positive behaviour support and experiences. For instance, working or playing sports with a team, helping others such as the old or disabled people. Those activities could improve social and communication skills, understanding and taking care of others. Furthermore, these personal developments are not only enhancing their soft skills but also enhancing their initiative and their self-esteem. Another reason for repeated crimes is an incorrect assessment of criminals’ behaviours while they are in jail. It is not surprising that some prisoners frequently breach rules or misbehave in prison. In order to prevent the happen, the officers should monitor them 24/7 from all locations and notice their misconduct immediately. Also, the inmates should be given even severe punishment when they do not behave well during imprisonment. As a result of this prevention could help to reduce repeated misconducts. Finally, felons should be supported after coming out of prison as they need to be protected from many adverse events around them in their life and they might easily incline to commit crimes again. Having regular counselling with specialists or even peers, for example, could assist them in not being lonely and to guide them in the right direction to live in their new community. It is believed that offenders need continuous and diverse support for preventing another crime. In conclusion, in order to prevent repeated offences, governments and communities should cooperate and continuously support prisoners with well-organised rehabilitation programs.