some people say that sports should not be encouraged in schools because they cause competition rather than cooperation among students. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is said that we should not promote sporting activities on campus, as they will drive students to compete with each other instead of corporate. With this, I completely disagree. In the first place, competition and cooperation are not mutually exclusive and they are both positive qualities. Firstly, learning to compete is not necessarily negative, instead, it enables students to lead a successful life. This is because a competitive personality, also interpreted as ambitious, pushes people to dream bigger and achieve higher. To illustrate, it stimulates teenagers to work harder and pursue various extracurricular interests to apply for prestigious universities, and it mentally prepares graduates for the fierce job market competition when entering the workforce. Secondly, these two personality traits work together to empower mankind to face adversity. For example, it is the spirit to compete and cooperate with other Argentina players that led Messi to win the World Cup trophy, which was difficult given his age. In the second place, sports should be encouraged in schools because it brings forth a multitude of other benefits. Primarily, it promotes students’ physical health. For example, cardio builds endurance and improve cardiovascular health, while anaerobic exercise can boost muscle strength and increase energy level. Therefore, grasping how to play sports during the adolescent phase could benefit their entire life, and a healthy demographic is a valuable asset for every country. Additionally, the mental health of pupils is also strengthened by playing sports. This is proved by voluminous scientific studies, demonstrating how exercising is one of the best ways to let off steam and feel invigorated. In conclusion, I entirely disagree with this viewpoint. As I believe competing and collaborating in the face of challenges are both crucial qualities children can acquire from sports, while the multiple physical and mental health advantages are another reason why sports should be an essential component in schools’ curriculum.