Doctors recommend that older people should exercise regularly. However, many of them do not exercise enough. What are the causes? What can be done to encourage them to exercise?

Even though elderly people are being given frequent instructions by physicians to be active, still the majority are less likely to have proper exercises. In this essay, I will examine the possible factors of this tendency and explore some remedies that can be taken to make them proactive. One of the preliminary issues associated with less activeness of the elderly generation is less financial stability. Even if many elders have taken their retirement, a significant amount of them still has been pursuing some occupation in order to supplement their daily needs under the high living cost. Retired soldiers, for example, opt to become security officers aiming to finance the rest of their life which is more crucial, and hence this may deviate them from having essential exercises owing to job responsibilities. Moreover, the availability of low facilities to exercise is paramount that need to be concerned. If adequate sports facilities are not sufficient in the areas where adults reside, it is less likely to have a chance since the young may fully occupy those causing the elderly to stay at home. One immediate way forward is the initiatives taken by the government to develop infrastructure facilities in terms of sports and recreation. If sufficient jogging tracks and open gym areas are developed, everyone including adults can get rid of a sedentary lifestyle and become more active. Another possible solution is the increment of retirement benefits and incentives. This may keep elders away from monetary issues and therefore assists to become energetic. For instance, when a person receives reasonably enough funds in his pension to fulfil daily requirements, it can significantly remove the hurdles of retired life and consequently encourage him to interact with exercise activities in a relaxed mind. In conclusion, despite the advice of health experts, adults are having less sufficient exercise due to a lack of facilities and financial instability. Nonetheless, some potential steps such as improving sports facilities and solving old-age monetary issues can appeal to adults to an active life pattern.