High job demands, stress and sense of commitment are among the main reasons people go to work when they are ill. This way they accomplish important tasks, but may infect others or get some serious health problems themselves. In your opinion should people go to work if they are sick? Support your point of view with relevant examples from your knowledge or experienc

Working while sick is a common phenomenon nowadays. Employees are forced to work even when they are not well because of the target pressures and stress related to it and also because of a false sense of commitment. But it comes with a disastrous consequence for them although the job may have been completed. This essay tries to find the reasons for the opinion that people should rest when they are sick. To begin with, the emergence of new communicable diseases often creates trouble to diagnose. People who come to the workplace with the symptoms can transmit the disease to the service users or to colleagues. Even though the work might have been completed, the organisation will be required to be shut down by the authorities to mitigate public health risks. It happened in many places, when the covid pandemic was on the prowl. Hence, sitting at home will be a wise option when someone is ill. In addition, there is an equal chance of aggravating personal health due to physical and mental strain during work. It might render the employee unfit to do the job for many weeks instead of a week or two initially. It is a loss to the organisation in the long run as the number of days lost with sickness absence will be higher. So it is important to look after the health of the employees by providing enough sick leaves and allowing them to sit at home. However, there are compelling reasons to come to work even when you are not on you 100%. The worker will think that his absence will be taken as an example of lack of commitment and get more stressed and is persuaded to join for the duty. There have been many instances of this in many multinational IT companies where Target makes a profit. People end up fighting against their employers for sickness benefits. To conclude, in my opinion, one should stay at home if he/she is ill. The reasons are aforementioned and governments should take the responsibility to create policies in this matter.