Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a difference. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It has been asserted that there is no legitimate reason for individuals to address environmental problems, which are the exclusive business of governments and corporations. I totally disagree with this point of view as I don't see any area that can be isolated from the public. From a personal point of view, there are many things that can be done to contribute to reducing environmental pollution. One option is that residents can reduce carbon dioxide emissions by driving less and taking more public transport. This effect has been recognized in many large cities, such as Shanghai, where convenient and affordable public transport services play an important role in reducing vehicle exhaust. Another practical action individuals can take is sorting their trash, which can make a huge difference in recycling. Also, I think environmental issues are only solved by politicians and business tycoons, which seems ridiculous to me. While one might argue that the executive branch has the power to legislate against pollution, we should not forget that many bills are introduced under the influence of public opinion. A convincing example is the decision to leave the European Union based on the British referendum. Moreover, industrial pollution should not be the only culprit. A remarkable fact that we cannot ignore is that households generate a lot of waste such as plastic bags and parcels every day. How can we only pay attention to enterprises and turn a blind eye to domestic waste? In conclusion, I don't think pollution problems can be solved by authorities and big corporations without the participation of individuals.