18.Some people think that in modern society individuals are becoming more dependent on each other. But others say that individuals are becoming more independent of each other. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed that there is an increasing level of dependence on individuals, including family, friends, and colleagues, in our daily lives. However, it seems to me that independent behaviour is more common in this contemporary society. There is no doubt that a sense of independence plays a leading role in everyday life. Modern technology encourages us to engage with global events more conveniently and efficiently. In other words, these modern inventions are increasingly being seen as important means of obtaining news, knowledge, social experiences, and even answers to school assignments, rather than face-to-face questions, conversations, or discussions with others. In a way, this greatly reduces the connection between people and others, promoting a stronger sense of independence within us. The development of artificial intelligence has contributed significantly to people's independence as it has revolutionized the way we live in this modern era. Today, many of our everyday tasks, such as shopping and banking, can be done independently via the Internet, rather than meeting people face-to-face. We no longer rely on service personnel such as clerks, bank tellers, and salespeople. On the other hand, in this day and age, due to the specialization and higher demands of work, it is not uncommon to require everyone to be proficient in only one field. This means that employees need to consult and cooperate with colleagues in other departments or even another enterprise to successfully complete the entire task. Therefore, it is very important to depend on others to a certain extent. To sum up, I think that the ability to think independently is needed in modern times, and it is more likely to become a mainstream way of life in the near future. However, we sometimes have to depend on others.