25.In some countries, old people are choosing to live in retirement communities with other older people rather than living with their adult children. Is it a positive or a negative development?

It is very common for people to live in retirement communities after they retire, and some people see this as a negative. However, I think it will keep them mentally healthy and lighten the load on the kids. On the one hand, the mental health of older people can be improved after retirement by being around their peers. Retirement communities have many elderly residents, allowing them to socialize with friends and feel less lonely, ultimately helping them maintain their mental health. In contrast, lonely older people tend to isolate themselves, which can lead to mental illness. Reports published by professional organizations show that people with mental illness mostly stay on their own. Therefore, staying in a retirement community is the best way to keep them in a good mood. On the other hand, older adults living in senior living communities are less likely to be dependent on their children. Because they are looked after by professionals in retirement, their offspring typically only need to visit them on weekends, allowing enough time for their work or family. While others who live alone may need their children to care for them on a daily basis, it can seriously disrupt their children's lives. For example, most of the elderly in China live alone, which makes their children visit their parents regularly. Once their parents get sick, the children have to stop their work and take the elderly to see a doctor, which disrupts their children's work schedule. To sum up, while there are those who argue that older people are better off living at home, living in a retirement community is a great solution to help them stay healthy and avoid disturbing their offspring.