Nowadays people use social media to keep up with the news. Why do they do this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In the last few years, there has been a tremendous increase in people following news via social apps. This is to stay up-to-date with local and international current affairs. From my perspective, the shift is mainly due to the convenience of news apps and round-the-clock accessibility. In this essay, I will discuss in detail the aforementioned reasons and the benefits of such a transition. The reasons why more and more people are turning to social media are the convenience and greater accessibility to news. In the past, people had to wait for the news to be broadcasted on television which would take up to a few hours, or wait for the newspaper to be delivered the next morning. Such delays were not appreciated by the population who prefers to know about the latest happenings at the earliest. With Facebook, Instagram and other social platforms, it is much quicker to have access to global news, as all the information is readily available with a click. Therefore, the more the convenience, the more people will adapt to it. In my opinion, a transition of the mode of availing news to social media is positive. People, nowadays, are relying heavily on social websites for their daily dose of information. This is due to the fact that the information provided is catered to their interests and likes, because social networks use algorithms to present you the news about your current interests. What is more, it is possible to block information on social platforms that are harmful or violent, to keep your mental health in check. Thus, it gives the reader more authority in selecting or dismissing the information based on their personal choice. To conclude from this discussion, extracting news from social media is definitely beneficial for news lovers as it provides them with quick, precise and filtered information without having to wait for hours.