Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Globally, the increasing crime rate is a pervasive issue. To tackle it, some may believe that a longer prison sentence is necessary, whereas others suggest rehabilitation programs for offenders and more public security by police are essential. In this essay, I will examine both viewpoints and share my fierce belief that educational programs in prison are a better way of crime prevention. For many, the solution to crime seems to be simple, to lock criminals up for longer. This way, there will be higher public protection, and thus safer society as the offenders will be behind bars. In Singapore, for instance, after extending the criminal sentence to twenty years for burglary, citizens felt a sense of security knowing that the arrested thieves are put away. Therefore, the longer the imprisonment, the lower the chances of reoffending by criminals. Another group, however, feel that extending imprisonment is not a solution. They believe in providing opportunities to make offenders understand the severity of their actions through rehabilitation programs and psychological intervention. In Canada, the offenders are subjected to counselling during their stay in prison to help them understand the illegality of their actions and to provide comprehensive training so that they have a better chance at life after prison. As a result, I agree that alternative measures are more effective in most situations. Offenders who show guilt and remorse must be allowed to avail of therapy and rehabilitation in order to make improvements. By this, criminals who are also humans, will show empathy and kindness towards everyone around. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, punishing criminals are necessary for the overall well-being of society, however, in my opinion, implementing longer imprisonment is not a fair solution as it does not provide them with an opportunity to improve and be a better citizen.