Mobile phones and the Internet could have many benefits for old people. However, this age group uses technology the least. What are the benefits for old people of using mobile phones and the Internet? How can we encourage them to use this new technology

It has been claimed that technologies, such as smartphones, laptops, and desktops, and the Internet may be highly beneficial for elderly people. However, old generations are reluctant to use these devices, as they are not fully aware of the advantages that technology offers and have limited knowledge about how to use them. Nowadays, it is increasingly common for old individuals to live alone, which can be too overwhelming and stressful for them. In this case, electronic devices help them to stay in touch with their loved ones, including family members, relatives, and even close friends, even though they are far from one another. As a result, their stress levels will reduce, developing a sense of belonging to the community. Furthermore, electronics and the Internet can serve as a source of entertainment, allowing older people to be engaged in numerous activities, such as watching videos, reading news, and even playing games, which can positively affect their mental activity and mood. There are a number of measures that could be taken in order to encourage old people to use innovative technology. First and foremost, governments should provide free learning and guidance on how to use cutting-edge telephones, because some apps are often too complicated for elderly individuals to understand. Meanwhile, their younger relatives also ought to assist them as they have more knowledge about recent innovations, making old people more confident in using modern technologies. Moreover, raising awareness of older generations about the merits of the Internet might make them more accustomed to using their electronics. By advertising on television or in newspapers, authorities can make the technology more widespread compared to the past. In conclusion, although electronic devices are useful for people, especially older individulas, offering entertainment and giving an opportunity to stay in touch with their family regardless of their location, a large number of old people are not passionate about using technology. It is mainly attributed to lack of awareness of the advantages, yet there are some ways to encourage them, including training and broader promotion of technology.