Today food often travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumer. Some people believe it would be better for the environment and the economy if people only ate food produced by local farmers. Would the advantages of this idea outweigh the disadvantages?

Access to nutritious food is essential for maintaining health and well-being. In current times, food usually comes from plantations to consumers over long distances. A group of individuals think that citizens should consume the food that is provided by regional growers as it would be helpful for both the environment and the economy. In my perspective, the disadvantages of this though are greater than the advantages, and the reasons for my viewpoint will be discussed in the forthcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the foremost benefit of purchasing goods from the local farmer will be that the price of the food will be cheap in comparison to transporting from outside. As the transportation cost and other import duties will be not applied to food, eventually, it will become more affordable. For example, the local grains and veggies that are grown in domestic areas cost far less in comparison to the international ones. However, not all veggies and fruits can be planted in regional locations as some plants require specific atmospheres and land types for growth. Therefore, the import of several foods is essential in order to consumption. For instance, fruits like apples can be harvested in only colder locations so, in India, most of the apples are shifted from the northern part to other territories. Other than that, if society depends on only consuming regional foods then they will miss out on all the vegetation and plants that are planted outside of the country or town. As a result, the chances of falling sick and ill will surge due to the lack of vitamins and minerals provided by the foods. To cite an example, strawberry is enriched with vitamin C, and if individuals stopped consuming this due to outside food it would result in a lack of that vitamin in one's body. Moreover, the authority of the state also took advantage of outside food as they will get import and duty tax on those products as well. To conclude, in my opinion, the merits of this proposal do not surpass the demerits due to factors like chances of sickness due to lack of nutrients, benefit to the government, and regional factors of plantations.