Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that criminal occasions can be reduced by providing extended prison sentences, while others assume that an alternative path of decreasing criminal events will be more effective. The following essay takes a look at the both sides of the argument. It is worth considering that, unfortunately, compared with the last century's statistics, in the contemporary world the percentage of criminal offenses have enhanced several times, consequently the lives of law-abiding citizens are endangered. One of the proposed ideas for decreasing the hazardous crime risks is to prolong the imprisonment period, which should intimidate criminals from committing any unlawful acts. Indeed, such a law introduction will slightly adjust the situation, however increasing the prison sentence timing for several years will not alter the primary behaviour of some individuals and, tragically, will not cease them. Another thing to consider is alternative ways of crime reduction which could be established by governmental authority. For instance, a high percentage of offenders refer to lower layers of society, hence due to the deep poverty, they try to survive by committing minor crimes, like theft. As a result, this can be solved by extra attention from local administration or volunteers, which can improve the quality of the needy. Regarding severe and life-threatening crimes, like murder or violence, this still should be deeply judged and punished. In my humble opinion, this education should start from early childhood, moreover can be improved by providing excellent upbringing by parents and educational institutions to grow honest citizens. Taking everything into consideration, it is agreed that there are 8 billion people all over the globe and we would never have a proper involvement in all of them. However, being a proper citizen and giving an example for others will definitely cease the crime events.