with the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. some see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, we live in a digital era where most of our information sources come from electronic devices. For this reason, there is an increase of written content consumed, due to the fast pace of digital readers. This is directly affecting the dramatic decrease in the replacement of printed books by e-books. Some people see this as a disadvantage, while others support the opposite. In this essay, we will evaluate the consequences of each method. The digitalization of reading content is making books more accessible while reaching a larger audience of readers. A benefit of this trend is the reduced cost of the printing process which makes it also more affordable. Some others will see this as a step forward, however, we also have to consider that e-books are more environmentally friendly. Overall, more individuals will surely become more interested in reading, and also the writing job will increase. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages that need to be considered, for instance, how this digitalisation trend will affect the printing book industries. There are many companies that rely on paper production that won't be able to continue if the printing readers stop buying books. it is important to consider how the loss of physical paper reading can affect children's learning process. In general, people are worried about how this could damage the economies of printing book companies. To summarise, it is clear that we are heading towards the digital era which is directly affecting the printed book industry. While some people don't support e-books and tablets as a source of reading, others think that is beneficial for the future. It will be necessary a further evaluation of the consequences and find a balance between the two methods.