Q; Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Pollution from fossil fuels has plagued the world in recent times and environmentalists have voiced their concern about rising global temperatures. One of the ways to decrease the influence of carbon exhausts is to limit the consumption of gasoline-powered cars and other vehicles. One of the ways to do that is to make fossil fuel cost prohibitive in order to limit the number of vehicles operating with traditional energy. While the proposed solution can address the issue, its impact would be limited. Throughout,history population still tended to use cars, when gasoline prices rose. Moreover, supply chains are too dependent on gas-powered trucks at the moment, as they don't have a sufficient alternative. Furthermore, aeroplanes are one of the biggest polluters in the world and we do not have a viable substitute on the horizon either. On the other hand, investment in new technologies like hydrogen fuel, which has a negligible carbon footprint, will have a more considerable impact. Today Porsche is the main proponent of the above technology and successfully demonstrated that the transition to alternative energy can be achievable. In the end, R&D is always more expensive than a simple price hike, however, the upside is much bigger. In conclusion, people calling for increasing the cost of fuel have a point. The proposal can lower the harmful effects of pollution. Yet, a better alternative is to invest in R&D and new technologies which some of the most famous companies are already adopting. So in my opinion, the proposal is not the best as some people think.