In some country, more and more adults are continuing to live with their parents even after they have completed education and found jobs. Do the advantages outweight the disadvantages.

There seems to be a shift of paradigm for young, educated adults to stay in their parent’s houses even after finding a job. As with every trend, there are distinct benefits and drawbacks associated with this phenomenon, however, I wholeheartedly believe that the disadvantages are far more troubling than the advantages. In this essay, I will try to discuss both these perspectives and establish my point of view. On the one hand, staying in the relative safety of one’s parental house provides an excellent opportunity for individuals to save money. In these trying times, with increasing inflation, the cost of living is always on the rise. Studies claim that almost 50% of a person’s income is used to pay for the rent. Hence, this amount can be kept if rent is not a necessity. On the other hand, I believe that human beings should be faced with certain challenges in life to grow; and these obstacles only reveal themselves when one is living alone. For instance, the talent of planning daily activities around 8 hours of work, alleviating basic needs such as hunger, leisure and relaxation, and also keeping one’s social life alive is nothing but an art. Furthermore, for some, becoming independent and self-reliant only happens when they are pressured to cope with such an environment that demands these traits. Living alone can provide such conditions to work on these aspects. Thirdly, not all families are the safety net that is generally assumed. For example, one of my friends found herself in the unfortunate position of dealing with an abusive father, which she solved by moving out and subsequently living in another city. To sum up, although there are certain pros to living with parents, namely the general safety of permanent accommodation and a better financial circumstances, a person will start to lose on fundamental capacities that everyone should possess. These talents are, but are not limited to time planning, self-growth and solving unfortunate parental issues that might be present. Thus, I believe that governmental bodies must try to curb inflation and improve the financial situation of their states in order for younger adults to be able to move out and discover the life that awaits them.