At the present time, the populatiion of some counries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently, the issue of having a number of young working adults has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that although there are some disadvantages to a youthful population, these are outweighed by the advantages, while others argue otherwise. And I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion. On the one hand, those who claim that this causes a number of problems do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that there is likely to be fiercer competition for jobs and an increase in the unemployment rate, which can lower the quality of life of the general population, including their mental health. Another argument is that this can also place strain on a range of public services, such as education. To be specific, schools may become overcrowded and the overall quality of education can suffer. Given these points, some people hold the view that there are numerous downsides to this situation. My opinion, however, is that these countries can benefit a great deal from having a large number of adults. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that there is a larger workforce available. This can in turn increase the country’s competitiveness in the global economy if public funding is allocated to creating manufacturing jobs for young people, who can then make products for export. Another convincing reason is that society would become more progressive because of the innovative and creative ideas of young people. This could have a positive impact on solving social issues such as health problems. To exemplify, research conducted by Seoul National University has demonstrated that 96% of new medicines are developed by young experts. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive. In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that a large youth population brings significant benefits to society.