Is mental strength important for success in sports or is it more important to have strong and fit people in sports? Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a debate nowadays on what is more important for the success of an athlete: mental strength or level of fitness and conditioning. While both views can have valid points, I am of a strong opinion that mental capacity is actually more crucial. Below I will outline the reasoning behind my argument. First, I want to highlight the fact that sports and athletic professions, in general, are extremely competitive. One does not succeed without applying hard work every day, otherwise, someone will take your place. A supreme sportsman can not rely on pure talent alone. For instance, Cristiano Ronaldo may not be as talented in such areas as passing and dribbling as Lionel Messi, however, he compensates those deficiencies with determination and hunger to get on the end of attacking moves. There are stories when extremely talented academy players would never fulfil their potential. Second, every athlete deals with disappointments and failures, especially today when the pressure of social media can make or break your career. For instance, Danny Rose, a famous footballer, had to close his Twitter account, because of the constant abuse he received there and had to deal with depression. Despite his ability, he was unable to translate it on the pitch due to mental issues he was dealing with. On the other hand, Dani Alves forged a successful career despite the torments of racists in Spain. In conclusion, people can argue the case for fitness and the case for mental strength, although, I strongly believe that in order to be a success you have to learn to deal with disappointments. Otherwise, talent will not get you very far.