In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and without any face-to-face contact with others. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

Our lives have changed tremendously since the internet enables people to shop, work and contact others entirely online. On balance, I believe it is a positive development with some drawbacks. On the one hand, the internet remarkably streamlines multiple activities including working, shopping and communication. Firstly, regarding working remotely, this flexibility has proven to be mutually beneficial for both employers and employees. Not only can the company save office overhead expenditures, but also employees are relieved from commuting and workplace stress. For example, many bilingual or multilingual professionals are now working from their homes on localization for gaming companies whose products need to be promoted internationally. Secondly, e-commerce is sweeping worldwide customers, outperforming brick-and-mortar stores as it provides a wide range of options with reasonable pricing and transparency. On the other hand, the lack of face-to-face communication has exerted negative consequences on our interpersonal relationships and mental health. Primarily, the use of online communication has weakened our personal bonds with friends and family. This is because nothing supersedes face-to-face exchange, during which intimacy can be sensed and empathy can be built. By comparison, communicating remotely leads to a sense of disconnection and isolation. Additionally, being constantly deprived of real-life contact is detrimental to mental well-being. For instance, it is reported that numerous people had been suffering from depression and anxiety during the COVID-19 quarantine. In conclusion, I believe this internet-based lifestyle option is generally positive, though with some downsides. It helps us to communicate with immense convenience and without constraints of time and space, which widens our reach on a global scale. Yet it also brings forth depressed emotions and takes a toll on our mental well-being due to the lack of real-person interaction.