Some people think that scientific work on plants and animals is good. Others think it is dangerous. Discuss both views.

Over the last decade, there has been tremendous research in the scientific sector that involves modifying existing plants and animals using biotechnology. While some are in favour of such research -based development, including myself, others, on the contrary, believe that introducing science in nature is dangerous. In this essay, I will discuss both viewpoints. Many agree, like me, that genetically modified plants and animals have been beneficial to humans for many reasons. The primary reason is the intermixing of desired traits of two different species in order to achieve a single superior breed. As a result, we get the best of both worlds, eliminating the undesired traits. Dolly, the first GM sheep, delivers milk that has high protein and Vitamin A levels. If we do not put scientific developments to use, then we will be restricting human potential. Thus, more the scientific work in this field, the better will be the outcome of the research. On the other hand, there is a debate whether combining scientific experiments with animals and plants is safe for mankind, or not. To begin, since the intake of GM food in the human diet, there is an evident increase in the cases of allergies worldwide. This could be due to the new substances that are introduced in our system, which the enzymes in our body cannot break down. Lactose intolerance, for instance, is primarily due to GM-modified cow’s milk. Indeed, this may result in the evolution of diseases not known to humans and no available cure. Therefore, comprehensive research should be done prior to distributing GM products in the market. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, in my belief, research is inevitable and should be encouraged to produce the best results, however, the risks involved cannot be overlooked.