It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

There is a new trend among younger generations to take what is generally called a " gap year " between school and college. As with every social phenomenon, this new behaviour possesses some beneficial and negative qualities which can be associated with it. Although I believe that an extra year between those two major steps of life is hugely advantageous, I will try to shine a light on both sides of this argument and draw a conclusion from it. One of the major upsides of taking the so-called gap year is in preventing educational burnout. Due to differences in personal character, some students spend a rather challenging time in high school. These obstacles are normally related to the mental or emotional capacity of pupils to cope with the educational and social circumstances of public educational centres which can lead to depression and other mental disorders. Thus, taking a gap year can provide an outstanding opportunity for these students to take a rest. Additionally, these personas can unwind by taking long vacations which might not be possible later in life. Furthermore, pupils can spend this year working in order to be readily prepared for the financial burden of studying at universities. I vividly remember the days of my BS studies, when I had to work long hours in order to be able to pay for my living expenses. On the other hand, some experts are very outspoken about their stance on the drawbacks of such a practice. They state that students lose their educational "steam" when they are not continuously stimulated, and as a result forget basic understandings that they need to know to start their undergrad studies which will create a burden on the educational system. Interestingly, others claim that there are no statistically rigorous published studies on this matter and until one is present, families should inhibit their younger members to spend a year away from higher education. To sum up, there are certain clear advantages to taking the gap year, such as preventing mental burnout, and gaining a higher level of independent financial situation. These can be negated by some disadvantages, for instance forgetting certain fundamental subjects and the general lack of consensus on the positive aspects of this phenomenon. I stand on my initial perspective of believing that the pros outweigh the cons, however, I am not oblivious to the fact that there need to be more studies on the matter.