To meet the growing need for food to support an increasing population, a country should make use of edible insects as a food source. However, some people believe that insects are not only unhealthy but harvesting them will also negatively affect nature. What are the benefits and drawbacks of eating insects?

To solve the food crisis derived from the world population growing in size, some people suggest insect products as an alternative due to various advantages, however, in my perspective, it has many potential hazards to the environment and individuals that should not be overlooked. On the bright side, insects are known as a good source of protein, residents in certain nations have been intaking insects as traditional food for a long time. Such as Korea, fried worms are served in a small cup as street food. On top of that, insects are easy to be found and captured in the wild, requiring no special equipment, which could be a more economical source to deal with the shortage of food sources, compared to farming and husbandry. Take campers as an example, when they are trapped in the jungle, instead of hunting animals, they are in favour of consuming insects as an alternative due to safety concerns. On the other hand, the opponents argue that the surge in the consumption of insects could foster downsides to eco-diversity since a decremental population of insects will lead to an unfunctional biological cycle, and the number of plants and small animals, which depend on insects, will go down as well. For example, the decrease in the number of bees could cause a drop in flowers' quantity, since they need bees to spread flower powder. Moreover, some people are worried about the the problem of hygiene regarding insect products due to their habitats, since the majority of insects live in dark and humid environments that could also contain a great amount of germs. To summarise, it is inevitable that the food crisis will continuing deteriorates in the future, and insect products could be one of the cogent solutions, however, the drawbacks they cause should not be overlooked since those could lead to a serious environmental issue.