In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

People who live in rural areas are moving to urban areas, and as a result, the number of people living in rural areas is declining in many countries. In my opinion, I believe that it is a negative development, as urban areas have the same importance as rural areas, which will be discussed in this essay. On one hand, people who are living in the countryside believe that moving to the big cities will upgrade their standard of living, however, this is not always the case. Not only living in a bigger city means higher income, but also means higher expenses. For example: in small towns, the means of transportation are limited yet affordable, but, in cities they are more expensive. The cost of living in some cities is triple the cost of living in a rural area. Which for sure may reflect on the standard of living of the family who moved to the city.The effect of these migrations will reflect on us too. On the other hand, people who moved to an urban area from a rural area, didn’t affect themselves only they affected the whole community. The case is, most of the rural areas have special industries that they are popular with. In Egypt, some villages specialise in handmade carpets, while others specialise in embroidery and another one specialises in Bamboo products. Moreover, if those who are living in these villages migrate to the city, these industries will become extinct over time. To sum up, Moving from the countryside to the city is not an unusual event, but it happens usually, and it has a great effect on man and society as a whole. The government should invest in the countryside as well to provide a good standard of living, good education and better healthcare, to help the people stay home and to avoid the consequences of these migrations to the city.