Many companies sponsor sports as a way for advertising themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

It is true that many enterprises promote their products and services by sponsoring sports events or sportsmen. While some people believe that this is beneficial to companies, I agree with those who consider that there are some drawbacks to this trend. entrepreneur On the one hand, it is obvious that several merits to entrepreneurs that sponsor sports or celebrities. Firstly, this results in increasing awareness of the company ’s brand name. When companies invest their money to facilitate sports, they may gain publicity and recognition. Therefore, more products are sold, and this leads to the development of the company. Secondly, sponsoring sportsmen or sports festivals is an effective way to get involved in the community. For example, Coca-cola company is often a big sponsor for the Olympics, and this company receives the people’s references. Consequently, the growing sales have brought much profit for the company. On the other hand, I share the concern of those who argue that there are disadvantages to companies. A main drawback is that companies may face risky financial. A good example is that when sponsored sport celebrities did not play well or were injured, the company would not get the profits which they originally expected. Another disadvantage is that sports endorsement may harm the reputation of companies. If the sportsman is involved in a scandal, or drug abuse, the company would be associated with that scandal or face customer boycotts. In conclusion, although there are benefits for companies to support sports and sporting celebrities, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the benefits.