In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In years to come vehicles will be automated, operating without a driver but only passengers on board. The limitations to this development to me will outshine its positives. In the subsequent paragraphs, I will be explaining my point of view in detail. To begin with, driverless cars. buses and trains are machines and can develop faults. Just like any other machine these vehicles can become faulty in the middle of nowhere, which can leave the passengers stranded. For example at Esiama, a canoe with an outboard motor was made which needs not to be paddled and was doing well until on 12/06/22 when the motor developed a fault whiles on the ocean with no single paddler on board, it took three days for them to be rescued. Secondly, a machine is programmed to follow the instructions of the programmer and disruption in its program will be disastrous. Thus in the case of a driverless car, bus or train if they have been programmed to reach a destination through a particular route and there is a blockage on the road, making it change its route will be very difficult. For instance, a special mower was manufactured by Sekondi High School students and it was designed to mow in a forward direction they realize it mowed anything it encounters being it a bicycle, bags or books as far as it's mowing in a forward direction without changing its route. ln conclusion, the negativity of a driverless vehicle in years to come will be more than the positivity as it can get spoilt leaving passengers stranded and a distortion in its programme can be dangerous.