It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, the majority of young generations apply for university studies after finishing their basic education. Most of the work placements ask for higher studies in order to work in their workplaces, so it recently became a need for most graduates. There is a rising trend of children taking a gap year before enrolling on further university experiences. In this essay, we are going to evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of taking this decision. Students want to make sure they are taking the right path before spending more than 4 years in a specific field, so taking a free year to explore their personal interests could be beneficial for some. There are many of them that leave their superior studies because they realised they prefer to work in a completely different field. However, it is important for parents to address their kids during this free time, so they don't become overwhelmed with many different choices. Most adults agree that taking this space between those two steps provides more efficiency in their future careers. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to this trend and the most common one is that some students get completely lost. The main reason why might be the lack of mentoring from schools, consequently it delays the studies and their job career. Some experts suggest that this will depend on every child's attitude, meaning that taking a gap year is not for everyone. To conclude with this opinion, it is known that is not that much about teacher influence and it will depend on the individual need of every student. To summarise, taking a gap year between preliminary school and university studies does not work for all students, so for some, it will be best to start their higher studies just right after finishing the previous ones. However, it will be the adult's responsibility to decide what method will work for every young individual while making sure this won't affect their future job opportunities.