WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic: Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, it is true that societies have become very dependent on the internet and technology. There are some that alert to the danger of this situation. Personally, I completely agree with the statement and this essay will approach some reasons for it. First of all, these days, everything in the world is connected with something or someone. For example, today, nothing works without an internet connection or a specific gadget designed for the purpose. Moreover, any task today cannot be done without any kind of technology, either a computer or a smartphone. It is scary how much we let us depend on technology and the way things are evolving is likely we are going to need it more and more. Communications, medicine and transport systems are three huge examples of how, presently, without it these services do not work. For instance, let’s imagine, if machinery happens to fail, doctors will not be able to treat patients. Every blood or urine sample depends on a machine to have the results. Furthermore, let’s think about scanning exams, and how it is supposed to know from just a patient complaint about what he or she has without looking inside the body in more detail. And this is only regarding the simple basis of any check-up appointment. As for transport, subways, for example, are all automatized. If for any reason there is a tiny flaw it is very easy and frightening to predict the number of possible accidents. In conclusion, despite agreeing with the statement, no one can deny how useful technology is and how it makes our lives easier. However it is important to have a plan B figured out for any failure.