In some countries, small town-centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do you think the disadvantages of this change outweigh its advantages?

Shopping patterns have been drastically changing in recent years, with the emergence of big out-of-town shops undermining small town-center ones and giving rise to the increasing use of cars. While such a development is to a certain extent advantageous to consumers and retailers, I believe it does more harm than good due to its negative impacts on small shops, people who do not have cars, and the environment. The development of large shopping malls on the outskirts indeed offers shoppers and retailers some advantages. Large out-of-town stores benefiting from economies of scale have better prices and a wider array of commodities for consumers to choose from. Additionally, large shops often come with big parking spaces and leisure facilities such as restaurants, bowling alleys, and cinemas, which may provide a better shopping experience. As a result, shoppers end up buying more, and retailers gain huge profits from growing consumerism. Nevertheless, I believe the aforementioned advantages of such a trend pale into insignificance when compared with its tremendous disadvantages. One clear drawback of this phenomenon is that big shops sited on the outskirts may drive small ones to the brink of closure, thereby rendering people working for those shops unemployed. This is particularly the case with traditional, small-scale businesses that are unable to compete against big transnational corporations. Moreover, this shopping pattern is geared towards people with cars, so to some extent, it excludes certain underprivileged groups of people who do not own ones. Those large out-of-town shopping centers also bring in its wake increased traffic congestion in the suburbs, especially at the weekends, and high emissions from influxes of vehicles traveling long distances. In conclusion, my firm conviction is that whereas consumers and shop owners may reap some benefits from the growth of out-of-town shopping malls, this trend is more likely to bring negative consequences.