In many cities, many people do not know their neighbours and lack a sense of community. What are the causes? How to solve this problem? (2012.06.16) (9/24/2016) (2018/7/19)

As time passes, many people who live in cities start to feel detached from their neighbours and community. I will illustrate the causes and solutions for this situation in this essay. The main factor is the individualist mindset has been building up in people ’s minds. With the rapid development of society, people are getting more and more busy than before, especially in the young generation. For example, after finishing the whole day’s stressful work, they don't have the time or energy to socialise with their community. Hence, people tend to spend most of their spare time focusing on themselves rather than the community. People are losing interest in socialising with people in their community. The ignorance of people in the same community leads to the reduction of communication. When the time people treat each other like strangers, there is no chance for them to find out their common interests to keep the friendship with each other. To fix the problem internally, changing the mindset of observing the community is beneficial for every community member. By being close to community members, people would feel a greater sense of security, inclusion and conviction, enabling them to release themselves when the time they feel passive. At the same time, encourage organise more community events and participate. By participating in community events or celebrating the holiday together, people get a great chance to get to know each other better, which lays the foundation for friendship and promotes the possibility of interaction between people. Take Halloween as an example, trick-or-treating with the kids or decorating the house with the neighbours on Halloween. To sum up, the main reasons that cause this detachment are an individualist mindset and losing interest in socialising with people in the community. However, there are various ways to solve them and encourage people to change their mindset by observing the benefits led by the community and encouraging active participation in community activities.