SOME PEOPLE SAY THAT THE ONLY REASON FOR LEARNING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE IS IN ORDER TO TRAVEL TO OR WORK IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY. oTHERS SAY THAT THESE ARE NOT THE ONLY RESON WHY SOMEONE SHOULD LEARN A FOREIGN LANGUAGE.

Nowadays the importance of learning a foreign language has become a topic of controversy in light of globalization and international interactions. While many argue that acquiring a new language is only necessary for individuals who go or work abroad, others believe that learning a foreign language offers a wide range of advantages beyond immigration. I personally believe that knowing a foreign language is essential, not only for expatriates, but also for them who remain in their home countries. In this essay I am going to delve deeper in both perspective. Those are on the one hand who believe learning a foreign language primarily is associated with traveling or leaving one’s home country. To begin with, they argue that people should prioritize gaining a deep understanding of their mother tounge before learning other languages. Since some ancient languages and dialects have become disappeared due to being neglected over years, so make it cruical critical that people presserve these languages by actively using them in their daily lives. Widespread use of technology and translator applications, in addition is their another reason for being reluctant to learn a new language. Proponents of this view argue that with help of some translator applications there is no need oneself acquire a new language, as they can easily translate any complicated text or document, written in any language in the world, into one’s mother tongue. Consequently learning foreign languages seems not necessary, as long as people stay in their home countries. On the other hand, there are nomerous advantages in acquiring a new language. By learning a new language many opportunities are subsequently flooded into a person life, both personally and professionally. Firstly from a personal perspective, learning a new language bring this opportunity to make meaningful communication with wider range of people around the world. It allows people become familiar with diverse ethnicities and cultures, ultimately one with more experience, contribute healthier and more open-minded in a society. Secondly, from professional standpoint, individuals with multilingual skills meet requirements of wider range job opportunities. Job seekers who posses foreign language proficiency could contribute in raising companies revenue through international interactions and trades. Learning a new language therefore not only enhance our understanding of the world but also improve the chance of getting higher paying jobs, whether in our country or in overseas. To recapulate, while the question of who should learn foreign language and why remains controversial, I firmly believe that acquiring new languages have undeniable benefits in one’s life. It open doors to personal growth, facilitate communication with people from different backgrounds and provide professional advantages.