Some people think hosting major sporting events brings benefits for the country. Other people think that it only brings disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that the country derives much benefit from athletic events. However, one could argue that it can lead to demerits. I would have to support that sporting events also have a two-sided influence on the country and this essay will discuss both viewpoints. On the one hand, I agree that there are several merits that result from budgeting money for sporting occasions. While the athletic event is organized, the image of the country also has a chance to know by foreign or even international enterprises, and that could result in the increase of the country ’s economy. For example, when World Cup 2022 is chosen to hold in Qatar, there are a significant amount of tourists go to this country, that leads to hotels and homestays in Qatar nearly sold out one month before World Cup 2022 starts. The development of the service industry at that time contributes substantially to the country ’s economy. In addition, as the government allocates money for organizing sports, their infrastructure also is improved. For example, to adapt to the increase in transport demand at the time when the World Cup happens, Qatar invests in restoring means of transport and expanding flyovers. These investments can contribute to permanent development in this country. On the other hand, I also believe that if the government doesn’t have a proper plan for sporting events, it will bring some drawbacks for the country. One of the typical disadvantages is that if the government spends a significant amount of budget on athletic events improperly, it will lead to a shortfall in the country ’s budget. For example, when a plenty of money is used to develop a service industry, there is no more money left for another industry like agriculture to buy good seeds or high-quality fertilization. Moreover, after big sporting events like World Cup, the organized country always has to deal with environmental problems because of littering. To conclude, I suppose that hosting major athletic events have both benefits and drawbacks. More benefits than drawbacks or in the contrast depending on the plan and the operation of the government in organizing this event