Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

These days, many youngsters do home activities more than outside activities during holidays. There are several reasons for this phenomenon. This essay will discuss these reasons and the suggested ways to change that. Nowadays, the main common reason young people spend their leisure time at home is the revolution of technology. To explain that, most youngsters prefer spending their weekends on electronic devices rather than doing outdoor activities. For instance, TV programs have a variety of entertainment for youth. Hence, they spend less time playing in the natural environment. In addition to that, video games consume time among adolescents. To illustrate that, some studies state that 75% of teenagers spend their holidays playing electronic games on the internet. As a clear example of that, My brother games PUBG and Fortnight with his friends all weekends. Some actions should be taken to motivate youngsters to do outside activities. One of these actions is to make these activities desirable for youth. In other words, the government may arrange a competition for some activities, such as walking and hiking, as well as provide a good reward for the winners. In contrast, parents have a responsibility to prompt their children to participate in this event. As a real example, last year, AL-Ahsa Municipality organized the AL-Ahsa Run Competition to encourage young people to walk in the open air, and there was a reward for three first places. In conclusion, most adolescents may prefer playing on the Internet and watching TV in their free time instead of going out. The state and family should motivate them to do outside activities by organizing some outdoor events to make them more interested.