Nowadays in many countries chemicals are used to produce and preserve food. Do the advantages of this use outweigh the disadvantages?

In a wide range of nations, food production and preservation steps are currently done using chemicals. In my opinion, I think that the use of chemicals can bring about more problems compared to any advantages it might offer. Admittedly, there are some basic benefits of chemical use in the food industry. Firstly, they enhance process efficiency, leading to improved production and extended shelf-life of products compared to natural methods. Secondly, chemical usage reduced the production costs. To exemplify, unlike organic ones, crops grown with the aid of fertilizers would probably grow faster and yield larger harvests. As a consequence, this contributes to more accessible prices for customers and may increase the overall sales for producers as well. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, I believe consumers could face serious drawbacks from chemical usage. One potentially dangerous problem is that it poses them with life-threatening health issues. Research has indicated that regular intake of monosodium glutamate, for instance, is prone to an increased risk of kidney failure and reproductive malfunctions. Therefore, excessive or improper application of some substances could, in the long run, be detrimental to individuals' overall well-being. Another obvious issue when chemicals are used in such processes is that it, adversely, impacts the environment, creating air pollution, water contamination, and soil degradation. The accumulation of those chemical residues can, furthermore, persist for a long period of time and are extremely hard to eliminate. In conclusion, the possibility of becoming incompetent or exacerbating the deterioration of ecosystems far outweighs any minor benefits that could result from the utilization of chemicals in the food industry.