Large shopping malls are replacing small shops. do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

Nowadays, small businesses are getting replaced by bigger shopping malls. From my perspective, it has both positive and negative impacts. To begin with, more larger and famous malls are being built everywhere, especially in the city centre. One of the advantages of having a huge shopping mall is the convenience to the shoppers because it has many stores, and people do not need to go to other places. They can buy everything they need and want in one place. In addition to that, these large shopping centres offer a lot of activities to do. It is not only for buying things but also a place for eating and watching a movie in the theatre. However, there are also some disadvantages to having more larger malls. It has demintrental effects on both the customers and the local shop owners. Small stores are closed down due to bankruptcy because large commercial centres are often preferred by consumers. Unemployment rates are rising as a result of many smaller shops being replaced by bigger ones. For instance, when local shops are having a financial crisis, they tend to remove a few employees. When they shut down, more staff will lose their jobs. But at the same time, more job seekers will be employed because of a bigger shopping mall. Moreover, some mall -goers who like to purchase a few items will go to a smaller shop instead of a bigger mall to avoid a long queue and waste their time and energy walking around the mall just to purchase one item. To sum up, I believe small shops being replaced have benefits and at the same time drawbacks to both the shoppers and the business owners.