Given the rise in criminal activities across the world, many people believe that long jail term is the only solution to this problem. Others, however, think that it is re-education and rehabilitation that holds the key to solving this problem. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, criminal activities across the world have risen tremendously. Some people believe that a long jail term is the only solution, though others think re-education and rehabilitation is the effective way to solve this problem. I believe that re-education and rehabilitation are important as the duration in jail. White-collar criminals who are committed to fraud, are obviously brave and intelligent people. In this case, huge punishment and taking away their freedoms will make them regret it and not do it again in the future after they have been released. For example, the corruptor did fraudulent activities and made money for themselves. If they got caught and punished in 20 years which is equal to the rest of their lives, they will think the money is not important anymore as their freedom. Meanwhile, besides that mode of criminal, there are other criminals, such as kidnapping and burglary. Some of them committed crimes because they were less fortunate and the government did not pay attention to the job opportunity for society. Moreover, technologies recently change how people are working. For instance, a parking man who was also a kidnapper, previously got fired because his job was replaced by an automatic parking gate. Thus, it is important to give a second chance by training a new set of skills and motivating them to try a new thing. It will be effective for those who have an economic motive. To conclude, both solutions are necessary in order to prevent the repetition of criminal activities after they have been released. Hence, high-profile criminals should be jailed for a long duration and others need practical skills to get a new job and improve their social welfare.