Some people think environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, think that those problems can be solved unless individuals take some action. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The issues related to the environment such as global warming, climate change and pollution are getting more and more severe, which has become too challenging for each citizen to handle. However, others believe that people need to take responsibility for protecting and preserving their surrounding habitat, so the mentioned difficulties can be mitigated. In this essay, both views will be discussed before giving my perspective. It is justifiable why the idea that individuals cannot deal with huge environmental problems is in favour. The first reason is that humans cannot control or change unprecedented harsh natural phenomena, namely floods, drought, tsunamis, and other weather patterns. The only thing they can do is to adapt and have preparation to minimize the damage caused by these issues. Besides, it should be the government’s responsibility to introduce laws imposing on their citizens on protecting the surroundings. The explanation is no one can change a situation without collective power. In other words, a community is willing to work together only if there is a proper guide and encouragement from their authorities. For example, how a normal city dweller stops an industrial factory from performing their working activities without releasing carbon dioxide into the air. Hence, what is needed is regulation from the authorities to control the factory’s harmful activities to nature. On the other side, there are a variety of reasons why numerous advocations regarding solving environmental problems individually. Admittedly, it is humans’ daily activities that lead to all types of pollution. To be more specific, it has been proved that the amount of CO2 emitted from private cars and motorbikes pollutes the air and the act of throwing garbage and plastic bags into the rivers pollutes water. In the same way, the increasing use of electric household appliances, especially air conditioners, contributes to intensifying the greenhouse effect which causes global warming. Therefore, if each person can adopt a green lifestyle, for instance, saying no to plastic bags, using public transportation to commute or cutting down on their use of electric appliances at home, the environmental issues can be eliminated significantly. In conclusion, I hold the same view that environmental sustainability depends greatly on each citizen’s discipline and responsibility. However, to guarantee individuals act in protecting the Earth to work effectively, it is governments around the world that should enact proper habitat-protecting laws for their citizens to oblige.