Some parents believe that reading entertainment books is a waste of time. In their opinion, children should read only serious, educational books. Do you agree or dis agree? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples from your own experience.

Few parents think that reading entertainment books is a loss of time. According to them, children must read only serious educational books. I agree with this statement. Firstly, reading informational journals broadens a child’s knowledge about a particular subject that they are reading. For example, if someone is going through a book on different types of animals on the planet, they will upskill their knowledge about that particular topic will be enhanced. Secondly, serious articles will help improve kid’s language particularly if the article is in English most of the work contains either formal or semi-formal English language in contrast to entertainment books which are informal. English is a major language used world wide for instance if one goes aboard or to some other place where two different native speakers meet then English is a life saver. Children can learn vocabulary grammar spelling and sentence structure. Thirdly, educational readings can teach one good values and virtues which should be incorporated into kids from a young age so when they grow, they practice good values and become decent individuals. Finally, reading entertainment books is just a loss of time, children can watch cartoons instead of reading these books when they need a break from formal reading they can opt for television for a change.