Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In current days the industry of marketing creates more and more new ways of manipulating people's minds and forcing them to buy some items, which do even have not any meaning to them. I agree partly with this statement, advertising is definitely an effective tool to sell any product, however, sometimes it can promote surprisingly useful things. First of all, marketing has always been a complex of economics, analytics, and science, involving clients, meanwhile, most companies apply some psychological and, sometimes, even manipulative tricks that had certain effects on a human's brain. Practices such as the psychology of color are pretty common in the branding industry. Some colors have different impacts on people's way of recognizing things and it is a well-established fact, which is proven by statistics. For instance, the red color brings a sense of hunger and it is the reason fast-food chains such as Mcdonalds' or KFC use it in identity so often. Secondly, involving some authorities in promoting goods is also a popular technique. It is not a secret, that a lot of famous brands, especially, in the area of sport and beauty prefer to prove their items by this tactic. Implicating celebrities and making them ambassadors expand the rate of business considerably, as media tycoons have a huge amount of followers who under their influence will buy literally everything, that they recommend. Consequently, applying some principles of psychology and communication can force people to buy even the most unhealthy dishes or food additives. On the other hand, sometimes, advertising promotes definitely useful goods in society. Moreover, thanks to banners, posters, and campaigns a lot of brands and small businesses are finally noticed by the public. One example is Asus or Sony, corporations that sell electronic gadgets have long time tried to promote themselves among Generation Z, but without any success. However, when they launched some trendy and funny videos on certain social media with slightly native advertising, the rate of views increased rapidly and the younger generation eventually consider these companies. As a result, elegant ways of marketing helped good items become seen. In conclusion, advertising exactly have a powerful influence on the opinions of society, and, sometimes, on their choices. In my opinion, it always depends on the case and product which is promoted, people ought to be more independent and make their choices wisely.