In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Some tribes inform their offspring on how they will be able to succeed in everything they desire when they work diligently towards accomplishing it. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of providing this information to them. Firstly telling children this message teaches the child not to be lazy in all their endeavours and this encourages the child to achieve excellence by not giving up easily. For instance, a successful entrepreneur like Aliko Dangote applied this principle of hard work and he did not give up on his business because well known. Secondly, it instils a trait of persistence and resilience in them by letting them know that everything doesn't come on a platter of gold. The disadvantage of telling children this information is that some children can become highly competitive and this could make them indulge in bad attitudes in order to achieve their goals at all costs. Also, if this message is misunderstood by children and they act on it excessively it can affect their mental health because they might not pay attention to anything else than what they want to achieve and will not be able to connect to the social world around them and f these children don't achieve their aim it can affect their mental health negatively. For example, the rate of mental illness has increased among students and when they were interviewed most of them attributed it to stress and the fear of failure and rebuke by patients allowing them to take caffeine and drug in other to stay awake. In conclusion, telling children that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough is good however, children should also be taught that not everything goes as want it to even after work and at this point they should learn to let go and cut their selves some slack.