You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

The looming threat of climate change and its effect on our planet and our ways of life is a recognized topic in the modern world. Experts have different perspectives regarding how to cope with this issue. Some state that it should be mitigated even at great costs, others believe that humans should be flexible enough to accept it and change their methods of living. I agree with the former point of view and I think climate change can be considered as one of the hardest challenges of our existence as a specie. In this essay, I will try to illustrate my reasons and draw a conclusion based on them. On the one hand, it is short-sighted to assume that climate change is only going to affect human beings. For instance, the rising temperatures have decreased the number of glaciers and ice caps at the north pole, destroying the habitats of numerous animals such as polar bears to the extent that most of them are now considered highly threatened. Therefore, since we are solely responsible for this phenomenon, we should take action to stop it and simply altering our life will be cruel to countless other living being on this blue pale dot. Moreover, the changes that climate change will bring to the geopolitical situation have the potential to lead to wars, famines, and other humanitarian disasters. For example, one of the most agreed-upon consequences of a developed greenhouse climate regime is the change in the patterns of rainfalls to more extreme conditions. Certain areas will start to experience much more rainfall, while others will undergo decades of dry spells. Consequently, governments might go to war in order to gather the required resources of their states. I believe this is a catastrophe for a specie that has flourished on this planet for aeons. To summarize, climate change not only affects us in various ways such as wars and famines, but also endangers the life of other living creatures. Thus, accepting the unforeseeable circumstances of a planet with higher temperatures while it can be avoided does not appear to be an acceptable path. I think that preventing climate change should be a top priority for any governmental body and new rules must be legislated to curb this issue.