It is common practice for some students to take a gap year after graduating high school to work and/or travel. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is becoming prevalent for some individuals to take some time off studying after secondary school for either leisure or work-related activities. Undoubtedly, there are positive and negative consequences for this occurrence. One of the major advantages of taking a gap year is probably the achievement of financial stability. Students who allocate some months to work as an employee or do businesses save some amount of money saved for their education and become well-established prior to starting college. Also, this period may allow time for decision-making. Young individuals get enough period to weigh the options they have as regards their future. For instance, the choice of course to study, and the life to live in the higher Institution and after studying amongst others. Additionally, there seems to be an increased sense of independence. A survey revealed that off years make people perform activities and make choices independently which can help them in the long run as well as psychologically. Admittedly, this phenomenon may result in waste of age and resources for those involved. Some students are already in adulthood prior to leaving secondary level. Therefore, spending time for leisure or getting employed before furthering their education may result in late- year in career achievement. It is pointed out that pupils tend to have reduced interest in educational activities when they are distracted for a few year India, in 2020 saw a reduced number of students admitted into the university because of the implementation of a gap year. Lastly, travelling around the globe in the name of a rest year from education has been found to increase the crime rate in the societies involved. In conclusion, this trending issue has both advantages and disadvantages to the people and the nation at large.